top of page

CADET ATTACHMENT PROGRAM

JANUARY 14, 2023, FIRST DAY IN THE OLONGAPO CITY POLICE STATION 3


"I will enforce the law courteously and appropriately without fear or favor, malice or ill will, never employing unnecessary force or violence and never accepting gratuities." -Law enforcement Code of Ethics [1]

I reported to the Police Station to which I was assigned. Observed the flow of work inside the station to familiarize the nature of the result of a police officer. My experiences and learnings here will be retained and remembered and will develop me as a good police officer when I graduate.

The first thing I noticed was the treatment of me by the PNCOs, maybe I am not used to it, but it was intimidating and unconfident at first. I first encountered PEMS Navarro, currently the CESPO of Olongapo City Police Station 3; he is the most senior PNCO in the station. He is old, but he is very approachable and informative. During my first 5 minutes, there are complainants approached the desk officer. The police station I am immersed in was busy. There are robberies, drug cases, physical injuries, homicide, murder, rape, etc. The desk officer receives a complaint about the mistakenly sent Gcash money, and he is asking for a police report to claim his money back. It only showed that as a police officer, you should be knowledgeable about any crime, even the updated or newly passed laws and operations you must know. You must be friendly and approachable to the community for them to help you, and be cooperative for any position your will be assigned. You will need the community and the people to treat them right to have an easier job in the future that you will be engaging with the district.

That afternoon, there was a buy-bust operation to be executed. Still, the guidance of the academic group was to refrain from engaging in that kind of operation to ensure our safety during the program. It is important to still follow the rules and regulations of the academy even outside the camp because the rules and regulations of the academy still bind us. We still have to be safe because it is the crucial year of our cadetship.

On my first day, I was not used to being called “sir” by someone older than me, and I was having problems addressing the PNCOs in the station, especially those senior PNCOs. I am very respectful and grateful for their friendly welcome at the station. I told myself that I would absorb everything they would impart to me and take note of the advantages and disadvantages of the different units and sections of the PNP. I will keep the things that are good for the service and for the shortcuts I encountered, I will make alternatives or ways to stop them. [2]



-CDTBIGS45



 

[1] Law Enforcement Code of Ethics — (n.d.). Retrieved from https://aceproject.org/main/english/ei/eix_m008.htm

Comments


bottom of page