top of page

Platoon Leader to Platoon Leader


Ask yourself this question: “What do I want? Realizing my dreams or getting stuck in my fears? Do I follow my dream and harvest satisfaction, freedom, happiness, and abundance? Or do I lock myself up in my room with my good old irritation, lack of energy, fear, fatigue, and depression?” The choice is yours. [1]

When I was still at college, I aspired and became a platoon leader in the Criminology Cadet Corps at Bataan Heroes College. This is the place from which all of my ambitions to join the police force began. I overcame obstacles that I would never have anticipated being able to conquer. In terms of my academic performance, I did not have any issues. On the other hand, I encountered a significant obstacle as I was moving toward fulfilling my ambition.

I had the opportunity to put my leadership skills to work at that school; nonetheless, this was a good beginning for me to attain my goals and develop into a well-rounded individual. I will need more funds to be able to continue with my academic pursuits. I became a working student at a fast-food restaurant to pursue my dream. After that, I started to understand the worth of money. I know that it is not a joke and that you have worked hard to obtain it. I was able to experience firsthand the struggles that my parents were enduring so that our family could fulfill our daily obligations of attending school and getting proper food. Because of my efforts, I passed my third year of college. Even though I was running a little behind schedule in progressing toward my objective, I never gave up and stopped dreaming.


My cousin told me about the Philippine National Police Academy. Even though I was already 20 years old at the time, I decided to apply even though my age put me on the verge of disqualification. As a result, that was my first and final opportunity to join the Academy. And luckily for me, I was one of the fortunate few to be received and join the PNPA class of 2023.


I am proud that I made it through all four years of my Cadetship life. I overcame all the challenges and the times when I challenged myself to step outside of my comfort zone. The experiences I had while living as a civilian equipped me with the foundations I needed to overcome the difficulties I encountered while pursuing my way to the portals of the Academy, which was my ticket to being a member of Officer's Corps Philippine National Police. When I reached my immaculate days, I set my goal of being the first platoon leader of my company, which was the position I held throughout my time in college.


I must look out for the safety and well-being of the members of my platoon. It is a specific duty, but carrying it out is essential to being an effective leader and maintaining the morale of my members by ensuring that they are continually growing and developing their skills as influential leaders for the future. Because of the fundamental principles that the Academy instilled in me over my four years there, I have acquired the skills necessary to lead my people. I will pattern my life after these fundamental principles and teach them to those who come after me so that we can steer our nation away from a culture of lawlessness.

"A great leader's unique achievement is a human and social one which stems from his understanding of his fellow workers." -W.C.H. Prentice[2]

The person who can lead us effectively must give the impression that they comprehend our objectives and aims. He must provide the belief that he can satisfy their needs, give the impression that he understands the implications of his actions, and give the impression that his choices are consistent and unmistakable. The word "seem" is essential in this context. If we recognize the potential leader as someone with characteristics, it will matter how capable he is. Our perception of him will remain the same. We are not going to follow in his footsteps. If, on the other hand, we have been deceived by and he only gives off the impression of having these traits, we will continue to follow him until we realize we have been wrong. In other words, the belief that he makes in his followers at any one time will determine the amount of power he has over them.


-CDTBIGS45


 

[1] Your Dreams are the Core Essence of Your Life. (n.d.). In Enthusiasm - Ineke Van Lint. https://enthousiasme.info/en/information/articles/?article=43 [2] Understanding Leadership. (2004, January 1). In Harvard Business Review. https://hbr.org/2004/01/understanding-leadership

ความคิดเห็น


bottom of page